Facility Advisory Committee

Facility Advisory Committee 

CPSD’s Facility Advisory Committee (FAC) is a citizen advisory committee that provides short- and long-range recommendations for facility improvements and capital bond issues needed to support them.

The FAC convened in February 2023 and meets through fall 2023. It will build on recommendations made by the committee in 2016 and the work started by the committee in 2019 that ended abruptly in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The school board has directed the FAC to review previous FAC committee conclusions from 2016 and 2019, develop recommendations for addressing aged facilities, facility improvements to promote educational goals and facility improvements to increase safety and security, and consider a future capital measure.

The FAC will review data to evaluate the overall condition of district facilities and prioritize potential facility modifications, replacements and/or additions, as well as provide input to support the development of a 10-year facilities plan to create and maintain safe student learning spaces.

Recommendations from the FAC are expected to be presented to the school board at a meeting during the 2023-24 school year.


Membership of the FAC includes parents, community members, students, representatives from district partners and district staff from a variety of departments.

District Parents   Community Partners  
Tia Burton Dower Darby Brooks Citizen
Nickolas Dery Carter Lake James Hairston Citizen
Julie Elledge Idlewild & Hudtloff Joe Vlaming Citizen
Mary Gonzales Dower Samantha Zipper Boys & Girls Club of South Puget Sound
Karla Laureano Hillside Rafik Gindy City of Lakewood
Elise Manaea Idlewild Wesley Prater Clover Park Technical College
Eric McCord Idlewild James Guerrero James Guerrero Architects, Inc.
Malcolm Russell Open Doors Norma Melo Joint Base Lewis McCord
Tepora Salanoa Lake Louise & CPHS John Korsmo Korsmo Construction
Summer Serra Lake Louise Gus Lim Pierce College
Kendra Timbers Idlewild & Harrison Prep Stephanie Roberts YMCA of Pierce & Kitsap Counties
Linda Watkins Lake Louise, Thomas & Lakes    
Anna Wilkerson Hillside    
District Students   District Resources  
Angel Calderon Ramirez Clover Park High School Leanna Albrecht Community Relations
Hank Jones Harrison Prep Ron Banner Superintendent
Alli Laska Harrison Prep Dale Brewer Maintenance and Operations
Launa Nieto Johnson Harrison Prep Michaela Clancy Special Education
Rubi Pelayo Harrison Prep Craig Cook Information Technology
    John Danielson Maintenance and Operations
CPSD Team   Amari Davis Equity and Engagement
John Boatman   Greg Hart Finance and Business Services
Jim Dugan   Brian Laubach Deputy Superintendent
Heather Hocklander   Kevin Scott Student Nutrition
    Grant Twyman Equity and Engagement
    Paul Vigil Transportation

Meeting Schedule

Committee Meetings (6-7:30 p.m. on Wednesdays)

  • May 24
  • June 21
  • July 26
  • Aug. 23
  • Sept. 20

Target School Board Presentation: October or November 2023