Teacher/Principal Evaluation Program

About TPEP

In 2010, the Washington State Legislature passed ESSB 5895 requiring each school district in the state to establish a new evaluation system, including the four-tiered rating, by June 2013. In accordance with ESSB 5895, on June 19, 2012, the Clover Park School District and the Clover Park Education Association agreed to adopt the Washington State Charlotte Danielson Framework for Teaching as the instructional evaluation model for all classroom teachers.

For classroom teachers, the four-tiered evaluation rating system (Distinguished, Proficient, Basic and Unsatisfactory) is based on the Charlotte Danielson Framework for Teaching. Evaluators observe teachers and assess performance in the four domains of the Danielson framework: Planning and Preparation; Classroom Environment; Instruction; and Professional Responsibilities. These domains also align with the eight criteria established by Washington State.

The Four Domains of the Danielson Framework

1. Planning and Preparation

The first domain is Planning and Preparation, which consists of:

  • Demonstrating Knowledge of Content and Pedagogy
  • Demonstrating Knowledge of Students
  • Setting Instructional Outcomes
  • Demonstrating Knowledge of Resources
  • Designing Coherent Instruction
  • Designing Student Assessments

This domain describes how a teacher organizes and designs instruction. The components address all aspects of instructional planning, such as understanding of content; understanding of the principles, practice and profession of teaching; and understanding of student needs.

2. Classroom Environment

The second domain, Classroom Environment, consists of:

  • Creating an Environment of Respect and Rapport
  • Establishing a Culture for Learning
  • Managing Classroom Procedures
  • Managing Student Behavior
  • Organizing Physical Space

The components of this domain set the stage for learning. Teachers create a learning environment through positive interpersonal interactions, efficient routines and procedures, clear and consistent standards of conduct, and a safe physical environment that supports the learning purposes.

3. Instruction

The third domain, Instruction, consists of:

  • Communicating with Students
  • Using Questioning and Discussion Techniques
  • Engaging Students in Learning
  • Using Assessment in Instruction
  • Demonstrating Flexibility and Responsiveness

These are the things most people associate with the core functions of a teacher. This domain focuses on the actual process a teacher goes through when guiding their students through a lesson. It looks at areas like how a teacher engages their students in learning; how a teacher sets learning expectations; and how assessments are used to drive instruction.

4. Professional Responsibilities

The fourth domain, Professional Responsibilities, consists of:

  • Reflecting on Teaching
  • Maintaining Accurate Records
  • Communicating with Families
  • Participating in a Professional Community
  • Growing and Developing Professionally
  • Showing Professionalism

This domain focuses on what it means to be a true professional educator. It includes self-reflection, communication and professional development. This domain considers how teachers reflect on their teaching to determine what worked well and what didn't, and how to improve; how well they are communicating with students' families; and what they are doing to continue to grow and develop in their profession.

Implementation Plan

All certificated classroom teachers, as defined in WAC 392-191A-030, will be moved to the Washington State Danielson evaluation system beginning in the 2013-2014 school year. Approximately 25% of continuing classroom teachers will be evaluated per year using the Comprehensive evaluation system for each of the next four years. All classroom teachers must be evaluated on the Comprehensive system by the completion of the 2016-2017 school year.